Something to Consider

Anya had a rough weekend.

She went to the vet for her heartworm test, annual vaccinations, and to have her nails trimmed. The appointment itself went great. The vet was fun and knowledgeable and even had a history of working with chiweenies which is great. I’d like to say Anya behaved well, but the best I can do is she behaved as expected. She hates having her nails trimmed!

The vet suggested a course of Benadryl for Anya to help her with the vaccinations. Which I put her on.

The first sign of trouble hit a few hours later. No, she didn’t have a negative reaction to the vaccinations, but at that point it was obvious that she was feeling the injections. She hurt. My cheerful, carefree little dog’s entire personality changed. She became mellow and extremely cautious. All because she hurt.

It shouldn’t come as a surprise that there was a great deal of yelping during the next few days. Anya stopped wanting to be near the barn dogs because Cougar kept bumping into her. She even got the point where she’d yelp whenever she was worried I was getting to close and about to bump her. I don’t blame her.

I want to stress throughout all of this, Anya never even seemed to consider the possibility of biting anyone. She’s smart. She kept a low profile and worked to stay out of people’s way. Instead of hanging with her dog friends, she stayed pretty close to me. She spent a great deal of time tucked between objects or under tables.

She did come out to see her favorite people. Most picked up on the fact that something wasn’t quite right with her. They nodded understandingly when I explained about just vaccinated and sore. They were told not to touch her shoulders, and yet I watched as stroking hands glided really close to the injection sites, not because the people petting her were cruel, but because they simply weren’t paying attention.

I want to stress, throughout all of this, Anya didn’t even think about biting, but while I watched things unfold, I couldn’t help thinking, this is probably why some people claim they’re attacked by family pets who “never bit before.” I can especially see how a  little kid, one that is used to cuddling and hugging a dog, could easily get bit in this situation.

If you sense your chiweenie is hurting, rather than put them and the people they love, in a bad situation, give your pet time to heal. This might even mean confining them to a crate for a few days. The odds are pretty good that your dog will be happier crated than with people anyway. If you absolutely can’t keep your chiweenie separated from house guests and children, you need to take it upon yourself to keep an eagle eye on your pet and make sure they’re not disturbed. It might not be fun, but it’s part of being a responsible pet owner.

I’ve deal with Anya’s situation by deciding to keep her away from everyone but her immediate human family for a few days. At this point, she’s so tired, I don’t think she’ll mind.

I’ve also made a note of her reactions to her shots in my copies of her medical records and will discuss the issue with the vet and see if they want me to try something other than Benadryl to help with the injection pain.

Leave a Reply

